Reviews · Tara Jane

A tweet for every book I read in 2016

By Tara Jane

blond-1866951_1280

In 2016 I wanted to read more. My goal was to read one book per month, and I’m stoked that I surpassed my goal! I read fourteen books over twelve months. Some were easy, cheesy young adult fics to challenging Christian books to chunky medieval fantasy novels. Like all good books should do, each book caused me to ask questions about the world and myself and caused me to contemplate new ideas.

I started this blog post two weeks ago, thinking about how lovely it would be to review each book I read, discussing how it shaped and changed me. But I got lazy and now it’s 2017. There’s more to say on some books and less to say on others. 140 characters makes for a good brief summary of each book for now.

Here’s a tweet for every book I read in 2016:

41ohrqaxhkl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Radical – David Platt
Am I too comfortable/lazy in my faith? Surely I can use my time/money/resources better to glorify God and spread the gospel worldwide.

18667945

Girlboss – Sophia Amoruso

Rags-to-riches. She knew her market & how to beat her rivals, interesting business insights. Gets a bit self-helpy. She’s now bankrupt #awks

14290364

Champion – Marie Lu
3rd in ‘Legend’ trilogy. YA dystopian, corrupt government, teen rebels, cute boy. Props for making an Asian girl the main character.

the-melody-lingers-on

The Melody Lingers On – Mary Higgins Clark
Like that time you left the TV on and watched whatever show was on next. It kept my attention, but wouldn’t read again.

18460392

All the Bright Places – Jennifer Niven
What happens to those who lose loved ones to suicide? Having friends struggling with mental illness made this a hard yet worthwhile read.

the_maze_runner_cover

Maze Runner – James Dashner
How did this become a movie? Or get a sequel? Y did I finish dis? Life’s too short to read boring books.

ldmoney_medium3d-ftg3fs3zf37jyx5fp3tjnsjcittrsxoy

Money Counts – Graham Beynon
Slow but helpful. Always good to be challenged about using money to glorify God, rather than for ourselves.

northern-lights

The Northern Lights (His Dark Materials book 1) – Phillip Pullman Also published as The Golden Compass
Slow start, hooked though. He really challenges the authority of the church, and the concepts of sin and souls.

the-subtle-knife

The Subtle Knife (His Dark Materials book 2) – Phillip Pullman
Oh, this is agnostic version of Narnia. He says children = pure. Bible describes us as sinful from conception. Good to read other worldviews

pmamberspyglass

The Amber Spyglass (His Dark Materials book 3) – Phillip Pullman
Bit preachy, lost the plot. Says souls become one with nature in death & sin is natural/necessary. Disagree but still gr8, would read again

51qv0rg2whl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Dangerous Calling –  Paul Tripp
If in ministry: don’t be a hypocrite. Couldn’t work out if this book was tough to read because challenging or boring

978-1-60774-730-7

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up – Marie Kondo
Never thought I would actually start thanking my objects before I chuck them in the bin.

eye-of-world

The Wheel of Time book 1: The Eye of the World – Robert Jordan
Gave up 10 years ago because it was long/hard/boring. Tried again & LOVED it. Only 14 books left in the series!
theboyinthestripedpyjamas

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas – John Boyne
Humans have such great capacity for evil, and an even greater capacity for justifying it.

What books shaped your 2016? What did you think of any of these? Would love to hear your thoughts!

3 thoughts on “A tweet for every book I read in 2016

  1. Hey Tara,
    This is cool! I’m actually wanting to read more this year. At the moment I’m hooked into “The Lunar Chronicles”. I started on Christmas eve and I’ve gotten through the first two books. Last year I re-read “The Best Yes” by Lysa Terkeurst. I love it because it offers practical tips on how to make wise decisions 🙂

    Like

What do you think? Leave a comment

